top of page
  • Writer's pictureAJ SK

Screenwriting Software

Screenwriting, also called scriptwriting, is the art and craft of writing scripts for mass media such as feature films, television productions or video games. Screenwriting therefore includes researching the story, developing the narrative, writing the script, screenplay, dialogues and delivering it, in the required format, to development executives. Screenwriters therefore have great influence over the creative direction and emotional impact of the screenplay and of the finished film.

But when Jason Louro decided to sit down and write his own screenplay, he was hindered in a most unusual way- He didn’t know how, or where, to start.

“I looked online for software to help me plan my screenplay, but nothing fit the bill,” says Louro, a third-year computer science and philosophy major at Northeastern University. “So I figured I could play around and try to create the software myself, and I managed to make something I think people could really use.”

Louro created Campfire, computer software designed to help novelists, screenwriters, and game designers develop characters, outline plots, and build their own unique worlds.

Since Louro launched Campfire in October of 2018, he says he’s made more than $150,000 in revenue and amassed nearly 4,000 users.

“At the end of the day it’s a planning tool that anyone can use to expand a story before they know what the medium is going to be,” said Louro.

Louro says that he will soon begin a self-directed co-op to develop the next iteration of his product: Campfire Blaze.

“It’s crazy to me that halfway through my college experience I am able to take six months off classes and work to develop this company,” says Louro. “I don’t know another school where I could do that.”

He said that his professors and peers at Northeastern have encouraged him to pursue side-projects and opportunities when they arise.

Ishwarya Varshitha

0 views0 comments
bottom of page